Ceremonial Session of the Council for Civil Society Development

On Monday, 25 February 2008, a ceremonial session of the Council for Civil Society Development was held at the premises of the Government of the Republic of Croatia.
The session was held on occasion of marking the first anniversary of the third mandate of the Council. The opening statements were made by Mr. Toni Vidan, President of the Council for Civil Society Development, Dr. Igor Vidańćak, Head of the Office for Cooperation with NGOs and Ms. Jadranka Kosor, Vice-president of the Government of the Republic of Croatia and Minister of Family, Veterans’ Affairs and Intergenerational Solidarity.
The Council is a consultative and expert body of the Government of the Republic of Croatia responsible for fostering co-operation between state institutions and civil society organizations in creating a quality environment for development of civil society in the Republic of Croatia. It has 23 members including: 10 representatives of non-governmental, non-profit organizations, 10 representatives of competent bodies of state administration of the Government of Republic of Croatia and 3 civil society experts in the field of international co-operation, inter-sectoral co-operation and processes of European integration.
During its last mandate, the Council gave an important contribution to the establishment of more transparent and efficient system of public financing and evaluation of projects and programs of civil society organizations, more quality participation of civil society in setting priorities for European Union pre-accession funding as well as general strengthening of the culture of dialogue between state bodies and civil society in the process of making new policies.
At the session, the members of the Council discussed both the Annual Report on work of the Council as well as the draft of the Annual Report on the implementation of the measures of the Operational Implementation Plan of the National Strategy for Creating Enabling Environment for Civil Society Development from 2006-2011.